It is okay to rename a task if it makes the step clearer, but you should avoid renaming a task if it changes the meaning.
Any task can be renamed by simply typing in a new title.
This is fine when rewording a task, but you should avoid typing in a new task in its place.
For instance, if you rename a task from “Choose a category” to “Add Featured Image,” any post that had that task completed already will appear to have completed the “Add Featured Image” task, even if that’s not true.
Instead of renaming an existing task, it’s best to delete the task and add a new one.