Publishing new content is one of the best ways to gain additional search traffic and social media followers.
But if you’ve been blogging for years, you might want to spend some of your time republishing outdated posts.
Republishing an outdated post is much easier than publishing a new article and can lead to a quick boost in search engine rankings.
With Strive’s post revisions, updating old posts is much easier.
How to create post revisions
You can create a revision from any published post on your site.
To create a revision from one of your posts, start by visiting the Posts menu. Then, hover your cursor over the post you want to republish and click the Create Revision link.
You’ll be redirected to the revision in the editor.
You’ll know you’re editing the revision and not the original because of the bright blue label in the admin toolbar that reads, “This is a Post Revision.”
If you don’t see the label, it’s because your editor is in fullscreen mode. Click on the Options button in the editor toolbar and then click on Fullscreen Mode to turn it off.
The revision label is always visible if you’re using the Classic Editor.
You can also create a revision by viewing a published post in the editor and clicking the Create Revision link in the admin toolbar.
What exactly is a revision?
A revision is a replica of the original post. The only difference between the revision and the live post is that the Permalink option is removed from the revision.
In general, you don’t want to edit a post’s URL after publishing it. When you publish a revision, the original post will be updated but it will maintain the same URL as before.
Everything else you see in the editor will overwrite the live post when published, including the date.
Why use revisions?
The purpose of a revision is to make edits to a published post without your changes going public when you save.
If you are rewriting a large portion of an article, you probably won’t complete it in one sitting. With a revision, you can make your edits and save your post without anyone seeing your half-finished work. Your edits to the post are only seen once you publish the revision.
How to schedule a post update
When editing a revision, you can click the Publish button to publish it immediately. When this happens, the content will be copied to the original post, and the revision will be moved to the Trash section of the Posts menu.
You also have the option of scheduling your revisions like normal posts.
When your scheduled revision goes live, the existing post will be updated and bumped to the front of your blog due to its new date.
Scheduled revisions also show up in the calendar with a Revision label next to the scheduled time.
Thanks to the calendar integration, you can easily visualize how many new posts and updates you have planned.
And speaking of planning your posts, one of the best tools for keeping on top of your publishing schedule is the content pipeline.
What happens to the revision after it’s published?
Revisions are automatically moved to the Trash. This allows them to serve as backups, and you can delete them permanently using the Empty Trash button in the Posts menu.